The inaugural South African (SA) Men of the Year Awards ceremony was held on the 30th of November 2015 at the Emperors Palace in Kempton Park were winners in different categories were announced and celebrated. This 2015 event which was the very first awards ceremony was a great success, attracting enormous public participation which yielded more than 400 000 votes via the sms voting system.

TIME: 18H00
VENUE: Carnival City Casino, Brakpan Johannesburg
DRESS CODE: Strictly Formal
THEME: “Transforming SA Men”
2017 Event


Dr Richard John Pelwana Maponya

Richard John Pelwana Maponya, is a South African entrepreneur and property developer best known for building a business empire despite the restric?ons of apartheid and his determina?on to see the Soweto township develop economically.


Mr. Ahmed Kathrada

Ahmed Mohamed Kathrada (21 August 1929 – 28 March 2017), sometimes known by the nickname “Kathy”, was a South African politician, political prisoner and anti-apartheid activist.

Kathrada’s involvement in the anti-apartheid activities of the African National Congress (ANC) led him to his long-term imprisonment following the Rivonia Trial, in which he was held at Robben Island and Pollsmoor Prison. Following his release in 1990, he was elected to serve as a member of parliament, representing the ANC. He authored a book, No Bread for Mandela – Memoirs of Ahmed Kathrada, Prisoner No. 468/64.highest award the African Na?onal Congress can bestow on an individual.

Sponsors and Partners